Research Medal

An award to celebrate excellence and impact of research into penal issues

The Howard League for Penal Reform is celebrating the work of academics and researchers whose work offers genuine new insights into the penal system through the introduction of its Research Medal.

We are committed to supporting new thinking and radical researchers who want to make an impact and change penal policy and practice through high quality research. The Research Medal celebrates high quality research that has succeeded, or can demonstrate that it has the potential, to have an impact on non-academic audiences.

The Research Medal is awarded in memory of Lord Parmoor.

The Howard League Research Medal 2013

The Howard League has published papers by the winners of the 2013 Research Medal. The papers are available to download for free in a single publication, Justice for young people. The joint winners, Professors Lesley McAra and Susan McVie for the Edinburgh Study of Youth Transitions and Crime, and Professor Kevin Haines and Dr Stephen Case for their work on the Swansea youth diversion scheme present their research in the papers alongside an annex which demonstrates the impact of the research and their future dissemination plans.

Download the publication

Inaugural Research Medal Collected Papers

To accompany the launch of the Research Medal 2013 the Howard League has published a collection of papers from the inaugural research medal including the overall winner: Professor Shadd Maruna and Dr Anna King Once a Criminal, Always a Criminal: ‘Redeemability’ and the Psychology of Punitive Public Attitudes.

The collection is free to download

Information about the inaugural winner